Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 24th, 2009

Sugarland Run

Exercise: GAH! We went out on a nice relaxing walk last night and my achilles tendon started hurting. No idea why, except that I probably should have been wearing better shoes.

It felt better this morning so the boy and I suited up and headed out for our run.  Once I started to run, I “felt” it,.  This is the same tendon I injured last August, so I kissed the boy goodbye and walked home to pick up my bike.  My plan was to catch up to him near the end of the run, which I so could have done except that I took a little detour. 

The Sugarland Run Trail branches off the bikepath about 1.5 miles from our house and I used to run on it for my 7 mile loop.  The paved trail twists through the woods and has many bridges that go across the winding stream, very pretty and great on a hot day due to the tree coverage.  That portion of the trail ends at a busy road, but the trail continues a couple blocks away.  I’ve been wanting to go on that portion for months and see where it goes. 

Today, just as I was going to pass it, I turned to finally see where it went.  It is the same winding type path with bridges and tall oaks towering above you.  It was so quiet and peaceful out there.  I sped down the trail and saw all sorts of birds – a bluejay in particular.  It is amazing to me how the environment changed so much just a few steps from the road.  No houses, no people, just me – speeding along.  I came to a fork in the trail, took a right that led to a neighborhood so I finally turned around and headed back up the trail to the street so I could try to catch up with the boy.  I was peddling like a mad woman, but I was just a little too late.  Not that it mattered. 🙂

Where do you exercise that makes you feel serene and peaceful? What kind of exercise is it?

Breakfast (5pt; 393 cal): All that cold air necessitated a big bowl of oats.  This morning it was chocolate cherry oats. My bowl contained: 1/2 C oats, 1 cup frozen unsweetened cherries, 1T unsweetened cocoa, 1T flax meal and I topped it with 1/2C soy milk. They warmed me right up and hit the spot.
img_0430

Mid-morning Snack (3pt; 153 cal): Egg whites with spinach and a wedge of Lauging Cow original on 1/2 of a La Tortilla Factory wrap.  Yummy. I prefer it on toast, but I didn’t have any bread. Love the rear view in this picture.
img_0437

Lunch (6pt; 468 cal): A yummy quinoa salad, apple, and yogurt for lunch.  My “salad” contained: quinoa, apple, edamame, feta, red cabbage, almonds, and a touch of italian dressing. So many yummy flavors and textures – sweet salty savory creamy crunchy.
img_0438

Mid-afternoon snack (2pt; 171 cal): Carrots and string cheese with a mock mocha. I love mock mochas almost as much as real ones.  Today I brewed a cup of Newman’s Own Extra Bold and added a packet of diet hot cocoa and 1/2 c soy milk. 
img_0444

Dinner (7 pt; 474 cal): I have been thinking about this salad for days! For the Salad Challenge tonight I finally had my Warm Black Bean salad:

  • img_0455Romaine/greens
  • broccoli
  • cauliflower
  • carrots
  • celery
  • green pepper
  • red cabbage
  • onion
  • Side of black beans from California Tortilla
  • Wholly guacamole
  • 1/2 a La Tortilla Factory wrap

I did put the black beans on the salad, but I thought all the colors were just too pretty to cover up.  I also had a small bowl of puffed kamut w/ soy milk.
img_0458 

Calories In/Calories Out: 1660/2392 (edited 2/25)
Daily Points: 23/19
WPA:  16.5/35
AP: 26

Read Full Post »